Dinosaur Bar-B-Que – The Best Barbecue in NYC?

DSC 0244 2

In the quotidian universe, I don’t eat that much meat. It’s expensive and bad for the environment and not particularly great for your health in large quantities. But man, is BBQ the best treat ever in the history of treats or what? Every once in a while, I just like to shovel a sinfully giant amount of fall-off-the-bone, juicy, savory meat products right into my piehole. One of my new favorite joints in New York is Dinosaur Bar-B-Que in Harlem – one of the best BBQ joints in the city, according to the Village Voice.  I (thankfully) have much more tasty ‘Q exploration to do before I release any kind of verdict, but I will say this: Dinosaur is entirely worth the hour-long wait it took to get in on a Wednesday night (though I’m not deserting my favorite LOCAL spot in Astoria, Butcher Bar!)

Read on for meaty goodness.

We crawled into this place on a Wednesday night after a full day at the Bronx zoo. I’d had Dinosaur catered to me at work before so I knew we were in for a treat, but definitely didn’t expect to wait an hour on a Wednesday. Definitely make an OpenTable reservation before you go. But hey! Waiting is an opportunity to drink beer! They had a great beer list so we got a couple of pitchers of Honey Brown Ale and an apricot wheat craft beer that was really refreshing.

DSC 0231 2

We started off with their Cajun deviled eggs – in my opinion, the unexpected hit of the evening. These little guys were AMAZING! Deviled eggs are one of those old school, cheesily-decadent hors d’oeuvres that have now fallen back en vogue in a delicious way. Dinosaur kicks theirs up with cajun spices and fresh chives.

DSC 0246 2

No BBQ experience is complete without great sides. This was before I went gluten-free, so mac ‘n cheese, arguably my favorite food, was an obvious choice to go with my ribs and pulled pork. Man those ribs were good…

DSC 0239 2

Boyfriend’s plate from L to R…pulled pork smothered in house sauce, ribs, brisket with sides of sweet potato and cole slaw. He didn’t finish it all, and that’s saying something. You know the old saying…don’t fill up on deviled eggs.

Want to experience this super BB-goodness? Dinosaur is located at 700 West 125th Street  New York, NY 10027. They also have locations in Syracuse and Newark for those a little further outside the New York sphere.

Leave a Reply

