Make a Pumpkin Spice Frappuccino at Home

Fall is my favorite, favorite, FAVORITE of all the seasons. I love the apple-crisp bite that begins to sneak into the air, just a little at a time, and I love adding layers to my outfits, socks and tights and scarves, the occasional sweater or blazer. Most of all, I love fall flavors – and pumpkin spice drinks from Starbucks are my absolute downfall. But sadly I can’t afford $6 espresso beverages every day (nor can my body bear the calorie expenditure), so what’s a budget-conscious pumpkin-fiend to do? Make it at home, of course!

This was shockingly simple and easy to create at home. So go ahead and assemble your pantry army for some caffeinated pumpkin warfare.

Ingredients

2 cups ice

1.5 cup milk (I used 1%, you can make it creamier with whole milk or low-cal with skim)

1 cup espresso or strongly brewed coffee

1/2 cup canned pumpkin

1 tablespoon pumpkin pie spice (cinnamon, allspice, nutmeg, cloves)

1-3 tablespoons sugar (use sugar to your taste. you can also use stevia or splenda for lower calorie count)

1 cup heavy whipping cream (or store-bought whipped cream)

How-To

1. Make your espresso or coffee. It’s best if you can do this a day prior, or at least a few hours beforehand, so that the espresso can cool. I used espresso made in an Italian moka espresso pot on the stove because I do not own an espresso machine. If anyone wants to buy me one, let me know, k? Great. If you don’t have an espresso machine or pot, you can just make regular coffee, but make it strong so the flavor (and caffeine!) both shine through.

2. Blend ice, coffee/espresso, and milk. Pulse to chop down the ice and blend to smooth. If you pour hot espresso into the mixture like I initially did, it will just melt the ice. Do this if you want a less slushy texture for your frappuccino. But then it’s not really a frappuccino, it’s more an iced latte. So don’t be an idiot like me and pour hot coffee into ice.

3. Blend in canned pumpkin, pumpkin pie spice, and sugar. Keep adding sugar and spices until you have your desired flavor.

4. If you’re whipping your own cream, pour some heavy cream and 1 tsp sugar into a Mason jar and shake until it becomes a light, whipped texture. This usually takes about 10 minutes.

4. Pour into a glass and serve with whipped cream and a sprinkle of spice on top! Holy crap it’s delicious.

One Comment on “Make a Pumpkin Spice Frappuccino at Home”

  1. mrszeg says:

    That looks and sounds as fabulous as I imagined. Will have to try it!! I have fresh pumpkin leftover. I think if I purée it it will work!


Leave a Reply

