Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcakes!

Image

Apologies for my lapse in updates…it’s been a busy last couple of weeks! I’m in an upcoming wedding (congrats Meg and James!) so I’ve been shuttling between New York and Boston for various nuptial preps. Plus WordPress didn’t autosave and subsequently ruined a 900+ word post that I wrote last week so I’ve been passive-aggressively not blogging. You know, just to show it who’s boss. Obviously that was really effective.

My roommate and BFF recently had a birthday. I racked my brain for something to get her that would be unique, appreciated, and cost-effective. Something that could really outdo the Mason jar full of air that I got her last year. The thought came to me suddenly and deliciously: I’d make her cupcakes! But I wanted these cupcakes to be super sweet and universally enjoyable, because I knew BFF wouldn’t be able to finish all those cupcakes by herself.

Thus, the chocolate chip cookie dough cupcake was conceived.

Image

The recipe was half self-invented and half adapted from the recipe over at Tidy Mom. I didn’t want a cookie dough filling in my cupcake because a) it was a spur-of-the-moment decision to make these cupcakes and I didn’t have time to be freezing cookie dough and b) I am very lazy. Instead, I flavored the batter with brown sugar and added mini chocolate chips, so it tastes sweet, warm, and comforting, just like cookie dough.

When I bake, I generally like to use boxed mix with some of my own ingredients thrown in. I feel no shame in using boxed cake mix and you won’t make me! It saves time and produces generally reliable results.

Ingredients

For cupcakes:

1 box white cake mix

3 egg whites

1/4 cup oil

1/2 cup light brown sugar

1/4 cup mini chocolate chips (semi-sweet)

For Frosting:

3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) salted butter

1 3/4 cups powdered sugar

1/3 cup light brown sugar

1/2 cup all-purpose flour

1 1/2 tablespoons milk

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Image

How-To

1. Pre-heat oven to 325°. Make your cake mix according to the back of the box (mine called for 3 egg whites  and vegetable oil) using a stand or hand mixer. Add 1/2 cup of brown sugar and chocolate chippies. Careful not to overmix like I did…when you’re working with eggwhites, they incorporate air when beaten on high speeds which can result in air bubbles in your cake.

2. Fill cupcake liners a little more than halfway with cupcake batter. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean when inserted into cupcake.

4. Make your frosting! Cream together butter, powdered sugar, and brown sugar. Leave the butter out to soften beforehand for best results. Once sugar and butter are evenly combined, add flour (this, along with the brown sugar, is what makes the frosting taste like cookie dough), milk, and vanilla extract.

Image

5. Decorate! I used a star tip and a Wilton pastry bag, but you can easily frost these with just a knife. Top with mini chocolate chips and enjoy thoroughly.

Image

Photos taken with a Nikon 5100 and 33mm lens.

2 Comments on “Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcakes!”

  1. What exceptionally pretty cupcakes!


Leave a Reply

